Shaw Brothers Film Library

Chang was born in Mainland China in 1923, and received his education at Chungking University before he first became involved in the film industry in 1947, when he wrote the script for a Shanghainese movie, The False Faced Woman . Within two years Chang made his directorial debut, Mount Turbulence (a.k.a. Happenings I n Ali Shan) in 1949. Between 1964 and 1981, Chang directed more than 70 movies for Shaw Brothers, becoming the most prolific director in the studio’s history. His first real blockbuster was One- A rmed Swordsman (1967), the movie which made Jimmy Wang Yu a star as well as earning the title of the first million dollar earning film in Hong Kong history. A gripping story of violence and revenge unlike anything seen before, it revolutionized Hong Kong cinema.

Chang directed more than100 movies during the course of his career, including such classics as One - Ar med Swordsman (1967) , Golden Swallow (1968) , The Water Margin (1972) , Shaolin Temple (1976) , Chinatown Kid (1977) , T he Five Venoms ( 1978) , House O f Traps (1981) , and so many more.

In the years that followed, Chang would direct some of the greatest martial arts movies ever made including the cult classics as Na Cha The Great (1974) , Men From The Monastery (1974) , Crippled Avengers (19 78) , Ten Tigers O f Kwang T ung (1980) and many more.

Chang also proved his ability at finding and developing new talent both in front and behind the camera during his time at Shaw Brothers. Director John Woo served as Chang’s assistant director on a number of projects, and today gratefully acknowledges Chang’s influence on his filmmaking style. Chang’s heroes may have used knives and swords while Woo’s heroes use guns, but the similarity in their styles is unmistakable as are the continued themes of brotherhood and loyalty. In front of the camera, Chang developed such talent as Jimmy Wang Yu, Ti Lung, David Chiang, Lo Meng, Kuo Chue (who would later serve as action director for John Woo on films such as Hardboiled ), Danny Lee (who co-starred with Chow Yun-fat in The Killer), and Andy Lau.

Shortly before his death, Chang received a Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2002 Hong Kong Film Awards. He will be remembered as the “Godfather” of Hong Kong Action Cinema. If not for him, the world of Hong Kong cinema would be a very different place.

(Film available in Celestial’s Shaw Brothers Film Library with year of production/theatrical release)

The Butterfly Chalice (1963)
The Magnificent Trio (1966)
The Trail Of The Broken Blade (1967)
One-Armed Swordsman (1967)
The Assassin (1967)
Golden Swallow (1968)
The Singing Thief (1969)
Return Of The One-Armed Swordsman (1968)
The Flying Dagger (1968)
The Invincible Fist (1969)
Dead End (1969)
Have Sword Will Travel (1969)
The Wandering Swordsman (1970)
Vengeance (1970)
The Heroic Ones (1970)
The Singing Killer (1970)
King Eagle (1970)
The New One-Armed Swordsman (1971)
The Duel (1971)
The Anonymous Heroes (1971)
Duel Of Fists (1971)
The Deadly Duo (1971)
The Boxer From Shantung (1972)
The Angry Guest (1972)
The Water Margin (1972)
Trilogy Of Swordsmanship (1972)
Young People (1972)
The Delightful Forest (1972)
Man Of Iron (1972)
Four Riders (1972)
The Delinquent (1973)
Blood Brothers (1973)
The Generation Gap (1973)
Police Force (1973)
The Pirate (1973)
Iron Bodyguard (1973)
Heroes Two (1973)
Friends (1973)
All Men Are Brothers (1973)
The Savage Five (1974)
Men From The Monastery (1974)
Shaolin Martial Arts (1974)
Na Cha The Great (1974)
Five Shaolin Masters (1974)
The Bloody Escape (1974)
Disciples Of Shaolin (1975)
The Fantastic Magic Baby (1975)
Boxer Rebellion (1975)
Marco Polo (1975)
Seven Man Army (1976)
The Shaolin Avengers (1976)
The New Shaolin Boxers (1976)
Shaolin Temple (1976)
Magnificent Wanderers (1976)
The Naval Commandos (1977)
The Brave Archer (1977)
Chinatown Kid (1977)
The Brave Archer 2 (1978)
The Five Venoms (1978)
Invincible Shaolin (1978)
Crippled Avengers (1978)
Heaven And Hell (1978)
Life Gamble (1978)
Shaolin Rescuers (1979)
The Daredevils (1979)
The Magnificent Ruffians (1979)
The Kid With The Golden Arm (1979)
Ten Tigers Of Kwang Tung (1980)
Two Champions Of Shaolin (1980)
The Rebel Intruders (1980)
The Flag Of Iron (1980)
Legend Of The Fox (1980)
The Sword Stained With Royal Blood (1981)
Masked Avengers (1981)
The Brave Archer 3 (1981)
House Of Traps (1981)
Brave Archer And His Mate (1982)
Five Element Ninjas (1982)
Ode To Gallantry (1982)
The Weird Man (1982)

Download Catalogue
© 2010 Celestial Pictures Limited. All Rights Reserved.   T & C   |   Site Map