Shaw Brothers Film Library

Born in 1948 as Li Guo-ying, in Shanghai, Li Ching was raised in Hong Kong and was inspired to become an actress in elementary school when she met superstar actress Lily Ho at a Hong Kong film festival. At the age of 15, she joined the Performing Arts Training School of Shaw Brothers and started working for Shaw Brothers in 1963. Her brief performance as a deaf-mute maid in one scene in the 1963 Shaw's film Inside The Forbidden City (1963)captured the attention of the Shaw's executives, and won her significant roles in two amazing films in the same year, The Crimson Palm (1963) and The Female Prince (1963). At the age of 17, she won the Best Actress Award atthe 12th Asian Film Festival for her striking role in The Mermaid (1964), earning her the nickname "Baby Queen" of Shaw Brothers.

Li further pleased film audiences by showing tremendous versatility with appearances in the award winning teen-tearjerker Susanna (1967), the successful musical Hong Kong Rhapsody (1967) and a string of dazzling Chang Cheh directed wu xia martial arts epics such as The Invincible Fist (1969), Have Sword Will Travel (1969), King Eagle (1970) and The New One-Armed Swordsman (1971).

Li Ching announced her retirement in 1983. She is definitely one of the most remembered Mandarin film stars in the hearts of Chinese audience.

(Film available in Celestial’s Shaw Brothers Film Library with year of production/ theatrical release)

The Lotus Lamp (1963)
Inside The Forbidden City (1963)
The Female Prince (1963)
The Mermaid (1964)
The West Chamber (1964)
The Knight Of Knights (1966)
The Pearl Phoenix (1966)
Lady Jade Locket (1966)
Moonlight Serenade (1967)
Sweet Is Revenge (1967)
The King With My Face (1967)
Hong Kong Rhapsody (1967)
The Sword Of Swords (1968)
The Invincible Fist (1969)
Dead End (1969)
The Three Smiles (1969)
Have Sword Will Travel (1969)
Killers Five (1969)
Whose Baby's In The Classroom (1969)
A Place To Call Home (1969)
King Eagle (1970)
Vengeance Of A Snow Girl (1970)
The New One Armed Swordsman (1971)
The Human Goddess (1971)
The Merry Wife (1971)
The 14 Amazons (1972)
The Fugitive (1972)
Ambush (1972)
Sexy Girls Of Denmark (1973)
Sexy Playgirls (1973)
The Ghost Lovers (1974)
Sorrow Of The Gentry (1974)
The Happy Trio (1975)
That's Adultery (1975)
Love Lock (1975)
Mr. Funny Bone (1976)
Clans Of Intrigue (1976)

Download Catalogue
© 2010 Celestial Pictures Limited. All Rights Reserved.   T & C   |   Site Map