Shaw Brothers Film Library

Alexander Fu Sheng was one of the first graduates of the joint performing arts training school established by the Shaw Brothers and TVB. He would go on to become one of the studio’s most famous and best-loved superstars.

Born Chang Fu-sheng to a wealthy family of 11 children in 1954 in Hong Kong, Fu Sheng was the number 9 child in the family. Fu-sheng’s father was an established businessman, a politician and one of the few Chinese Legislative Councillors back then. Fu-sheng bucked the family trend in academics to pursue an acting career.

After graduating from the training school, Fu-Sheng made his debut performance in Shaw Brother’s The 14 Amazons (1972).

With his mischievous good looks, versatility and agility, he quickly became a favorite of martial arts luminaries. His collaboration with Chang Cheh was the major push that boosted his career. He was featured in many of director Chang’s films including the riveting Heroes Two (1973) and Friends (1973). The latter film won him the best new actor award at the 20th Asian Film Festival, but it was Chinatown Kid (1977) that brought him international attention.

It was in Liu Chia-liang’s Legendary Weapons Of China (1982) that he got the chance to show off his comedic skills. The laughter was shortlived, however, In 1983, he was in the midst of filming The Eight Diagram Pole Fighter (1983) directed by Liu Chia-liang when a fatal car crash snuffed out what was to have been a promising life and career. Director Liu Chia-liang completed the movie nine months afterwards as a last tribute to the short-lived nova.

(Films available in Celestial’s Shaw Brothers Film Library with year of production/ theatrical release)

The 14 Amazons (1972)
Police Force (1973)
Friends (1973)
Heroes Two (1973)
Na Cha The Great (1974)
Five Shaolin Masters (1974)
Boxer Rebellion (1975)
Marco Polo (1975)
The Shaolin Avengers (1976)
The New Shaolin Boxers (1976)
Shaolin Temple (1976)
Magnificent Wanderers (1976)
The Naval Commandos (1977)
The Brave Archer (1977)
Chinatown Kid (1977)
Life Gamble (1978)
The Brave Archer 2 (1978)
The Avenging Eagle (1978)
Heaven And Hell (1978)
The Deadly Breaking Sword (1979)
The Proud Twins (1979)
Heroes Shed No Tears (1980)
The Treasure Hunters (1981)
The Brave Archer 3 (1981)
Brave Archer And His Mate (1982)
The Fake Ghost Catchers (1982)
Cat vs. Rat (1982)
My Rebellious Son (1982)
Legendary Weapons Of China (1982)
Hong Kong Playboys (1983)
The Eight Diagram Pole Fighter (1983)

Download Catalogue
© 2010 Celestial Pictures Limited. All Rights Reserved.   T & C   |   Site Map