Shaw Brothers Film Library

Ti Lung was named "Three Dragons of Kung Fu Movies" along with the legendary Bruce Lee and Jackie Chan. He specialized in playing heroic characters that are vigorous and righteous, which earned himself the title "Standard Hero".

Born Tam Fu Wing on August 3, 1946, a native of Guangdong,he was educated at Eton School in Hong Kong. As a child, he started his apprenticeship in a tailor shop, and also received martial arts training from Chu Wan, a well-known Wing Chun teacher. In 1968, Ti Lung enrolled into the Shaw Brothers Performing Arts Training School. His extraordinary acting ability won him the leading role in Chang Cheh's 1969 film Dead End through the internal audition.

At first he worked exclusively with director Chang Cheh, often co-starring with David Chiang. Director Chang has mentioned that the combination was perfect as their styles complement each others to give the best dramatic effects. The many films they co-starred in included Have Sword, Will Travel (1969), Vengeance (1970) and Heroic Ones (1970). Ti Lung's majestic presence, charismatic charm as well as powerful emotional performance have earned him acclaimation from all over Hong Kong, Taiwan, and South East Asia.

In 1973, his manifest performance in Blood Brothers as a villain won him the Special Performance Award at the 11th Golden Horse Film Award and subsequently the Outstanding Acting Award at the 19th Asian Film Award.

Ti Lung is truly an iconic character in the history of wu-xia and Kung Fu films.

(Films available in Celestial’s Shaw Brothers Film Library with year of production/ theatrical release)

Dead End (1969)
Have Sword Will Travel (1969)
Vengeance (1970)
The Heroic Ones (1970)
The New One-Armed Swordsman (1971)
The Duel(1971)
The Anonymous Heroes (1971)
Duel Of Fist (1971)
The Deadly Duo (1971)
The Angry Guest(1972)
The Water Margin (1972)
Young People (1972)
Blood Brothers (1973)
The Generation Gap (1973)
The Young Rebel (1973)
Young Lovers On Flying Wheels (1974)
Five Shaolin Masters (1974)
The Empress Dowager (1975)
Black Magic (1975)
The Spiritual Boxer (1975)
The Last Tempest (1975)
7-Man Army (1976)
The Snake Prince (1976)
The Magic Blade (1976)
Black Magic 2 (1976)
Clans Of Intrigue (1976)
The Jade Tiger (1977)
The Naval Commandos (1977)
Flying Guillotine 2 (1977)
The Sentimental Swordsman (1977)
Death Duel (1977)
Soul Of The Sword (1978)
Legend Of The Bat (1978)
The Avenging Eagle (1978)
Swordsman And Enchantress (1978)
The Deadly Breaking Sword (1979)
The Kung-fu Instructor (1979)
Return Of The Sentimental Swordsman (1980)
Roving Swordsman (1980)
The Emperor And His Brother (1981)
The Brave Archer 3 (1981)
Perils Of The Sentimental Swordsman (1981)
Tiger Killer (1982)
Clan Feuds (1982)
Shaolin Prince (1982)
Mercenaries From Hong Kong (1982)
The Hidden Power Of Dragon Sabre (1984)
A Friend From Inner Space (1984)
The Master Strikes Back (1984)
Law Or Justice (1988)
The Bare-Footed Kid (1993)
Destiny's Champion (1997)

Download Catalogue
© 2010 Celestial Pictures Limited. All Rights Reserved.   T & C   |   Site Map